RESUME OF MINUTES OF BIENNIAL ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING OF THE COUNTY BOARD, CHAMPAIGN COUNTY, ILLINOIS December 5, 2022

The County Board of Champaign County, Illinois met at a Biennial Organizational Meeting, Thursday, December 5, 2022, at 6:07 PM in the Shields-Carter Meeting Room, Brookens Administrative Center, 1776 East Washington Street, Urbana, Illinois, with County Executive Steve Summers presiding and Matthew Cross as Clerk of the meeting.

ROLL CALL

Roll call showed the following members present: Carter, Cowart, Esry, Fortado, Goss, Hanauer-Friedman, Harper, Ingram, Locke, Lokshin, Michaels, Patterson, Rodriguez, Rogers, Sexton, Stohr, Straub, Taylor, Thorsland, Vanichtheeranont, Williams, and Wilson – 21; absent: Sexton – 1. County Executive Summers declared a quorum present and the Board competent to conduct business.

SWEARING IN OF COUNTY BOARD MEMBERS

County Clerk and Recorder Aaron Ammons administered the Oath of Office to all board members.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA/ADDENDA

Board Member Ingram offered a motion to approve the Agenda/Addenda; Board Member Straub seconded.

Board Member Fortado offered a motion to amend the Agenda adding Public Participation following Read Notice of Meeting and preceding Communications; Board Member Thorsland seconded. The motion to amend carried by unanimous voice vote.

The motion as amended carried by unanimous voice vote.

READ NOTICE OF MEETING

The Clerk read the Notice of the Meeting, said Notice having been published in the *News Gazette* on December 1, 2022.

PUBLIC PARTICIPATION

Jennifer Putman of Urbana spoke of her experiences serving on the County Board in the past, especially a term with 26 Republicans and 6 Democrats serving; she urged the board to work bipartisanly and to cultivate trust with one another. Ms. Putman thanked the current board members for their service, thanked their families for supporting them,

Champaign County Board December 5, 2022

thanked unsuccessful board candidates, especially Jim McGuire, and wished the board good luck.

COMMUNICATIONS

Board Member Stohr called for nominations for three awards of the 2023 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Countywide Celebration: the James R. Burgess, Jr./Susan Freiburg Humanitarian Award, the Doris Hoskins Prestigious Community Service Award, and the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Outstanding Achievement Award. He also stated the helicopter for the Illinois State Geological Survey's Mahomet Aquifer Airborne Mapping Project is currently collecting geophysical data in the county and noted the rescheduled Media Day on December 7, 2022, at Frasca Field Airport in Urbana.

SELECTION OF CHAIR

Board Member Fortado nominated Board Member Patterson for County Board Chair from the Democratic Caucus and Board Member Michaels nominated Board Member Harper from the Republican Caucus. Board Member Harper briefly spoke on the honor of being nominated by his colleagues. Board Member Patterson spoke, thanking the Democratic Caucus for the nomination and noted the Board accomplishments under his prior 2020-2022 Board Chair term. Board Member Patterson was elected Board Chair by roll-call vote.

Patterson: Carter, Cowart, Fortado, Hanauer-Friedman, Ingram, Locke, Lokshin, Patterson, Rodriguez, Rogers, Stohr, Straub, Taylor, Thorsland, Vanichtheeranont, and Williams – 16

Harper: Esry, Goss, Harper, Michaels, and Wilson – 5

SELECTION OF VICE CHAIR

Board Member Ingram nominated Board Member Carter for County Board Vice Chair from the Democratic Caucus and Board Member Michaels nominated Board Member Esry from the Republican Caucus. Board Member Carter briefly spoke on the honor of being nominated by her colleagues. Board Member Esry noted his experience on the Board and that he would be competent to run meetings in the absence of Board Chair Patterson. Board Member Carter was elected Vice Chair by roll-call vote.

Patterson: Carter, Cowart, Fortado, Hanauer-Friedman, Ingram, Locke, Lokshin, Patterson, Rodriguez, Rogers, Stohr, Straub, Taylor, Thorsland, Vanichtheeranont, and Williams – 16

Harper: Esry, Goss, Harper, Michaels, and Wilson – 5

DETERMINATION OF COMMITTEE STRUCTURE

Champaign County Board December 5, 2022

Board Chair Patterson stated he felt no need to change the committee structure. Board Member Esry stated that during his tenure on County Board he has experienced several different committee structures and felt the most recent was effective and did not see a need for change. No board members offered a motion to amend the current committee structure, rendering Resolution No. 2022-267 moot and, as such, the resolution was not put forward.

<u>APPOINTMENT TO COUNTY BOARD COMMITTEES</u>

Board Chair Patterson requested the party caucus chairs submit their appointment recommendations prior to the December 15, 2022 Regular County Board Meeting.

LIAISON APPOINTMENTS

Board Chair Patterson requested board members to submit their desired board liaison appointments prior to the December 15, 2022 Regular County Board Meeting.

OTHER BUSINESS

Board Member Stohr requested that a member from the board district of the retiring board member read the honoring resolutions. County Executive Summers noted his regret that these resolutions were not on the November Regular County Board Meeting Agenda when the honorees were present.

Board Member Goss offered a motion to adopt Resolution No. 2022-268 honoring retiring County Board member Jacob Paul; Board Chair Patterson seconded. Board Member Goss read the full resolution. The motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

Board Chair Patterson offered a motion to adopt Resolution No. 2022-269 honoring retiring County Board member Mary King; Board Member Thorsland seconded. Board Member Stohr read the full resolution. The motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

Board Member Harper offered a motion to adopt Resolution No. 2022-270 honoring retiring County Board member Brad Passalacqua; Board Member Goss seconded. Board Member Harper read the full resolution. The motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

Board Member Michaels offered a motion to adopt Resolution No. 2022-271 honoring retiring County Board member Jodi Wolken; Board Member Lokshin seconded. Board Member Michaels read the full resolution. The motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

Board Member Carter offered a motion to adopt Resolution No. 2022-272 honoring retiring County Board member Steve Summers; Board Member Straub seconded. Board Member Straub read the full resolution. The motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

Champaign County Board December 5, 2022

Board Member Carter offered a motion to adopt Resolution No. 2022-273 honoring retiring County Board member Jim McGuire; Board Member Esry seconded. Board Member Esry read the full resolution. The motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

Board Member Esry call for round of applause for retired board member Mary King who was present at the meeting. The County Board gave Ms. King a standing ovation.

Board Member Goss offered a motion to adopt Resolution No. 2022-274 honoring retiring County Executive Darlene Kloeppel; Board Member Stohr seconded. Board Member Stohr read the full resolution. The motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

<u>ADJOURNMENT</u>

County Executive Summers adjourned the meeting at 6:57 PM.

Aaron Ammons, Champaign County Clerk and ex-Officio Clerk of the Champaign County Board Champaign County, Illinois

Dawn Ammors