Champaign County, Illinois
Local Government Information Center
 
 

County Assessment Office

Stan Jenkins, Supervisor of Assessments

If you've suffered damage from the November 17, 2013, tornado you can obtain an Application for Abatement of Real Estate Tax Assessment Due To Destruction of Improvement by clicking here.

County Assessment Office Forms

No Faxes Accepted on the Following Forms:
Model Home Application
Name/Address  and Parcel Description Change Form
General Homestead Exemption Application Form
Senior Citizens Homestead Exemption Form

Disabled Persons' Homestead Exemption Form
Application for Illinois Disabled Person Identification Card

Disabled Veteran's Standard Homestead Exemption Form
Returning Veterans' Homestead Exemption Form
2013 Senior Citizen Assessment Freeze & Application
2014 Senior Citizen Assessment Freeze & Application

Homestead Exemptions

General Homestead Exemption
This annual exemption is available for residential property that is occupied as the principal dwelling place of the owner. The amount of exemption is the increase in the current year's equalized assessed value (EAV), above the 1977 EAV, up to a maximum of $5,000. The General Homestead Exemption is available in all counties except Cook County and may be granted automatically or may require an initial application to be filed with the chief county assessment office. Public Act 95-644 that passed into law in 2007 increases the maximum limit to $5,500 for the 2008 tax year (property taxes paid in 2009) and to $6,000 for 2009 tax year (property taxes paid in 2010).
To qualify for this exemption you must have owned or had a legal or equitable interest in the land on which a single-family residence is situated and used as your principal place of residence on January 1 of the assessment year.
For information contact the Chief County Assessment Office.
Click here for the General Homestead Exemption Application Form

Senior Citizens Homestead Exemption
This annual exemption is available for residential property that is occupied as the principal residence of a person, who is 65 years of age or older during the assessment year. The person must be the owner or a lessee with an ownership interest in the property with a single-family residence, who is be liable for the payment of the property taxes. The amount of the exemption is a $3,500 reduction in the EAV of the property. Filing requirements vary by county; some counties require an initial application, Form PTAX-324, Application for Senior Citizens Homestead Exemption, or an annual renewal application, Form PTAX-329, Certificate of Status - Senior Citizens Homestead Exemption, to be filed with the chief county assessment office. Public Act 95-644 that passed into law in 2007 increased the amount of the exemption to $4,000 beginning with the 2008 tax year (property taxes paid in 2009).

What documentation is required?

To qualify for this exemption a copy of the deed or instrument which shows legal or equitable interest in the property must accompany the Homestead exemption application.  You must also provide proof of age.

Click here for Senior Citizens Homestead Exemption Form

Senior Citizens Assessment Freeze Homestead Exemption (SCAFHE)
This exemption allows senior citizens who have a total household maximum income of less than $55,000, and meet certain other qualifications to elect to maintain the equalized assessed value (EAV) of their homes at the base year EAV and prevent any increase in that value due to inflation. The amount of the exemption benefit is determined each year based on (1) the property's current EAV minus the frozen base year value (the property's prior year's EAV for which the applicant first qualifies for the exemption), and (2) the applicant's total household maximum income limitation. Each year applicants must file Form PTAX-340, Senior Citizens Assessment Freeze Homestead Exemption Application and Affidavit, with the chief county assessment office. Public Act 95-644 that passed into law in 2007 increased the total household maximum income limitation to $55,000 beginning with the 2008 tax year (property taxes paid in 2009).
To qualify for this exemption you must have owned or had a legal or equitable interest in the land on which a single-family residence is situated and used as your principal place of residence on January 1 of the  current assessment year and January 1 of previous assessment year.

Click here for 2012 Senior Citizen Assessment Freeze & Application

Click here for 2013 Senior Citizen Assessment Freeze & Application

Homestead Improvement Exemption
This exemption is limited to the fair cash value that was added to the homestead property by a new improvement, or the difference in an increase in assessed value between the prior structure and a rebuilt residential structure up to an annual maximum of $75,000. The exemption continues for four years from the date the improvement is completed and occupied. The Homestead Improvement Exemption may be granted automatically or Form PTAX-323, Application for Homestead Improvement Exemption may be required by the chief county assessment office.
Contact the County Assessment Office for more information.

Disabled Persons' Homestead Exemption
The Disabled Persons' Homestead Exemption (35 ILCS 200/15-168) provides an annual $2,000 reduction in the equalized assess value (EAV) of the property owned and occupied as the primary residence on January 1 of the assessment year by a disabled person who is liable for the payment of property taxes.

Who is eligible?

To qualify for this exemption you must

  • be disabled or have become disabled during the assessment year (i.e. cannot participate in any "substantial gainful activity by reason of a medically determinable physical or mental impairment" which will result in the person's death or that will last for at least 12 continuous months).
  • Owned or have a legal or equitable interest in the land on which a single-family residence is situated.
  • occupy the property as your primary residence on January 1 of the assessment year, and
  • be liable for the payment of the property taxes.

If you previously received a disabled persons' homestead exemption and now reside in a facility licensed under the Nursing Home Care Act (210 ILCS 45/1 et. seq.), you are still eligible to receive this exemption provided:

  • Your property is occupied by your spouse, or
  • your property remains unoccupied during the assessment year.

Residents of a cooperative apartment building or life care facility as defined under Section 2 of the Life Care Facilities Act (210 ILCS 40/1 et. seq.) qualify to receive this exemption provided the:

  • property is occupied as the primary residence by a disabled person,
  • disabled person is liable by contract with the owner(s) of record for the payment of the apportioned property taxes on the property, and
  • disabled person is an owner of record of a legal or equitable interest in the cooperative apartment building.

NOTE: A resident of a cooperative apartment building who has a leasehold interest does not qualify for this exemption.

What documentation is required?

You must provide one of the following to qualify for this exemption. The proof of disability must be for the same year as the assessment year shown on Line 3 of this application.

  1. A Class 2 Illinois Disabled Person Identification Card from the Illinois Secretary of State's Office. Class 2 or Class 2A qualifies for this exemption. NOTE: Class 1 or 1A does not qualify.
  2. Proof of Social Security Administration disability benefits which includes an award letter, verification letter or annual Cost of Living Adjustment (COLA) letter (only COLA Form SSA-4926- SM-DI). If you are under the age of 65 receiving Supplemental Security Income (SSI) disability benefits, proof includes a letter indicating SSI payments (COLA Forms SSA-L8151, SSA-L8155, or SSA-L8156).
  3. Proof of Veterans Administration disability benefits which includes an award letter or verification letter indicating you are receiving a pension for a non-service connected disability.
  4. Proof of Railroad or Civil Service disability
    benefits which includes an award letter or verification letter of total (100%) disability.
  5. If you are unable to provide proof of your disability as listed in Items 1 through 4, you must submit an Application for Illinois Disabled Person Identification Card to your Chief County Assessment Officer (CCAO). This Form must be completed by a physician. The CCAO may require you to provide additional documentation. NOTE: You may also be required to be re-examined by an IDOR designated physician. You will be responsible for any costs incurred for your examination by any physician.

Click here for the Disabled Persons' Homestead Exemption Form

Click here for the Application for Illinois Disabled Person Identification Card

Disabled Veterans' Standard Homestead Exemption

Public Act 95-644 that passed into law in 2007 created a new homestead exemption for disabled veterans beginning with the 2007 tax year (property taxes paid in 2008). This exemption is an annual reduction in EAV on the primary residence occupied by a qualified disabled veteran. The disabled veteran must own or lease a single family residence and be liable for the payment of property taxes. The amount of the exemption depends on the percentage of the service-connected disability as certified by the U. S. Dept. of Veterans' Affairs. A disabled veteran with a disability of at least 50%, but less than 75% will receive a $2,500 reduction in EAV. A disabled veteran with a disability of at least 75% will receive a $5,000 reduction in EAV. Initial application Form PTAX-342 Application for Disabled Veterans' Standard Homestead Exemption must be filed with the chief county assessment office. The Form PTAX-342-R, Annual Verification of Eligibility for Disabled Veterans' Standard Homestead Exemption must be filed each year to continue to receive the exemption. For a single tax year, the property cannot receive this exemption and the Disabled Persons' Homestead Exemption or Disabled Veterans' Homestead Exemption. For more information contact the Chief County Assessment Office.

Who is eligible?

To qualify for the DVSHE, the disabled veteran must

  • be an Illinois resident who served as a member of the U.S. Armed Forces on active duty or state active duty, Illinois National Guard, or U.S. Reserve Forces, and not dishonorably discharged. _ have at least a 50% service-connected disability certified by the U.S. Department of Veterans' Affairs; and
  • own and occupy the property as the primary residence on January 1 of the assessment year or lease and occupy a single family residence on January 1 of the assessment year and be liable for the payment of the property taxes to the county.
Do I need to provide documentation?

You must provide a disability award or verification letter from the U.S. Department of Veterans' Affairs for the current assessment year and one of the following documents that is the original or a copy certified by the county recorder, recorder of deed's, Illinois Department of Veterans' Affairs, or the National Archives Record Center.

  • Form DD 214 or separation of service from the War Department (military service prior to 1950); or
  • Certification of Military Service Form.

Click here for the Disabled Veteran's Standard Homestead Exemption Form

Returning Veterans' Homestead Exemption

Public Act 95-644 that passed into law in 2007 created a new homestead exemption for returning veterans beginning with the 2007 tax year (property taxes paid in 2008). This exemption is a one-time $5,000 reduction in EAV on the principal residence of a veteran upon returning from active duty in an armed conflict involving the armed forces of the United States. Although the exemption is only for a single year, a qualifying veteran can receive the exemption for another tax year in which he or she returns from active duty. Applicants must file Form PTAX 341, Application for Returning Veterans' Homestead Exemption, with the chief county assessment office.

Who is eligible?

To qualify for this exemption you must

  • be an Illinois resident who has served as a member of the U.S. Armed Forces, Illinois National Guard, or U.S. Reserve Forces,
  • have returned from active duty in an armed conflict involving the armed forces of the U.S.,
  • have owned or had a legal or equitable interest in the land on which a single-family residence is situated and used as your principal place of residence on January 1 of the assessment year, and
  • be liable for the payment of the property taxes.
Do I need to provide documentation?

Your Chief County Assessment Officer (CCAO) will require documentation to verify your eligibility for this exemption. If you were discharged from active duty service, you must provide

  • the original Form DD 214; or
  • a copy of Form DD 214 certified by the county recorder, recorder of deed's, IL Dept. of Veterans' Affairs, or the National Archives Record Center.

If you are still on active duty after returning home, you must provide

  • Form DD 220; or
  • military orders and travel voucher stating that you are returning from an armed conflict involving the armed forces of the U.S. within the tax year that you are requesting this exemption.

Click here for the Returning Veterans' Homestead Exemption Form

Non-homestead Exemptions for Religious, Charitable, or Educational Organizations

Properties of religious, charitable, and educational organizations, as well as units of federal, state and local governments, are eligible for exemption from property taxes to the extent provided by law. The organization must apply for the exemption with the county board of review which reviews the application and forwards it to the department for the final administrative decision. For more information contact the County Board of Review

Other Links:

Circuit Breaker (State Drug & Auto License Assistance)

Real Estate Tax Deferral Program contact County Treasurer's Office.