Champaign County, Illinois
Local Government Information Center
Important Messages

Foreclosure Mediation

Click here for Foreclosure Mediation Information

Brookens Administrative Center Green Business Certification

Department Heads at the Brookens Administrative Center are pleased to be working with the Illinois Green Business Association to achieve certification that Brookens is a Green Business.  For more information about participating in Green Business Certification visit the Illinois Green Business Association website at

Courthouse Electronics Ban

All electronic devices including, but not limited to cellular telephones, walkie-talkies, portable radios, iPods, MP3 players, portable computers (including tablet computers and laptops) and other telecommunication devices capable of internet connectivity and/or audio or video recordation are prohibited in the Champaign County Courthouse. Lawyers, law enforcement officers, Champaign County employees, and members of the Press acting in their official capacity are exempted from this Order. The violation of this Order may be punishable as contempt of Court. This Order is effective September 1, 2012.

Cameras for wedding ceremonies held at the Courthouse will be allowed.

Information about Champaign County

Champaign County, Illinois is located in the heart of East Central Illinois, at Latitude 40.14030 North, Longitude 88.19610 West. US Interstates 57, 72 & 74 intersect in the County which puts Champaign County approximately 2 hours south of Chicago Illinois; 3 hours north-northeast of St. Louis, Missouri; and 2 hours west of Indianapolis, Indiana.

Champaign County was incorporated on February 20, 1833. Township form of government was adopted in 1859. The County Board currently has 11 Districts, with two members representing each District for a total of 22 Board members. The County Board Chair is elected from the Board members. The County currently has an Administrator hired by the County Board to oversee the day-to-day operations of the County.

Home to the University of Illinois, Parkland College, and two major regional hospitals (Carle Foundation Hospital and Presence Covenant Medical Center), Champaign County is a leader in education, health care, government, high technology, light industry and agriculture. Champaign County comprises 1008 square miles, the majority of which are involved in agriculture.

The 2010 US Census estimate lists Champaign County as the 10th largest County in the State of Illinois with a population of 201,081. The largest urban areas in the County are the City of Champaign (81,055), the City of Urbana (41,250), and the Village of Rantoul (13,674).