
Special Joint Meeting of the CHAMPAIGN COUNTY MENTAL HEALTH BOARD (CCMHB) and the CHAMPAIGN COUNTY DEVELOPMENTAL DISABILITIES BOARD (CCDDB)

Minutes—February 26, 2020

Brookens Administrative Center Lyle Shields Room 1776 E. Washington St Urbana, IL

6:45p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Susan Fowler, Joseph Omo-Osagie, Elaine Palencia, Kyle

Patterson, Julian Rappaport, Jane Sprandel, Kathleen Wirth-Couch

STAFF PRESENT: Lynn Canfield, Mark Driscoll, Shandra Summerville

STAFF EXCUSED: Stephanie Howard-Gallo, Kim Bowdry, Chris Wilson

OTHERS PRESENT: Georgiana Schuster, CCDDB; Joel Fletcher, State's Attorney's

Office; Gail Kennedy, CCDDB.

·

CALL TO ORDER:

Joseph Omo-Osagie, Board President, called the special meeting to order at 7:13 p.m.

ROLL CALL:

CCMHB: Roll call was taken and a quorum was present: Susan Fowler, Joseph Omo-Osagie, Elaine Palencia, Kyle Patterson, Julian Rappaport, Jane Sprandel, and Kathleen Wirth-Couch. CCDDB: Roll call was taken, a quorum was not present: Georgiana Schuster and Gail Kennedy.

CITIZEN INPUT / PUBLIC PARTICIPATION:

None.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA:

MOTION: Ms. Elaine Palencia moved to approve the agenda. Dr. Susan Fowler seconded the motion. A voice vote was taken, and the motion was passed.

BOARD ANNOUNCEMENTS:

None.

OLD BUSINESS – CLOSED SESSION:

MOTION: Mr. Kyle Patterson moved to go into closed session pursuant to 5 ILCS 120/2(c)(11) to consider litigation which is affecting the Champaign County Mental Health Board and the Champaign County Developmental Disabilities Board, and that the following parties remain present: Executive Director Lynn Canfield and Assistant State's Attorney Joel Fletcher and Ms. Georgiana Schuster and Dr. Gail Kennedy. Mr. Joseph Omo-Osagie seconded. Present were: Kyle Patterson, Kathleen Wirth-Couch, Jane Sprandel, Susan Fowler, Elaine Palencia, Julian Rappaport, and Joseph Omo-Osagie. A roll call vote was taken, and the motion passed, and the Board went into closed session at 7:17PM.

The Board came out of closed session at 7:39 p.m.

MOTION: Mr. Joseph Omo-Osagie moved to come out of closed session and return to open session. Ms. Jane Sprandel seconded. Present were: Kathleen Wirth-Couch, Jane Sprandel, Susan Fowler, Elaine Palencia, Julian Rappaport, and Joseph Omo-Osagie. A roll call vote was taken, and the motion passed.

ADJOURNMENT:

The meeting adjourned at 7:40p.m.

Respectfully

Submitted by: Lynn Canfield

CCMHB/CCDDB Staff

*Minutes are in draft form and are subject to CCMHB approval.