Champaign County Circuit Court

Jury Commission

Under Illinois law, every county with a population in excess of 40,000 must establish a Jury Commission consisting of three members who are appointed by the circuit judges of the court. Each Jury Commissioner serves for a three year term.

In Champaign County, Jury Commissioners meet one day a month, at Brookens Administrative Center, located at 1776 East Washington Street in Urbana, Illinois. All Jury Commission meetings will be in the Putman Meeting Room unless otherwise posted at Brookens. The Jury Commission meets from 9:00 AM until 1:00 PM.

Jurors wishing to be excused from service must appear in front of the Jury Commission prior to their summons date, providing a legitimate undue hardship excuse. If you simply wish to serve at a different time, you may call the Jury Coordinator at 217-531-7408 to ask if you may be deferred. This service is provided ONCE in a calendar year. Repeated requests for deferment will be referred to the Jury Commission or Presiding Judge. If you cannot appear in front of the Jury Commission, you may need to appear on your first day of service and ask to be excused by the judge.

2021 Jury Commission Dates

  • January 20, 2021 (Canceled)
  • February 17, 2021
  • March 17, 2021
  • April 21, 2021
  • May 19, 2021
  • June 16, 2021
  • July 21, 2021
  • August 18, 2021
  • September 15, 2021
  • October 20, 2021
  • November 17, 2021
  • December 15, 2021